Space Tweets!

by Nancy Santagata

Confession: I am obsessed with space.

I recently joined Twitter and was pretty excited (I’m not going to lie!) to learn that several astronauts have official NASA Twitter feeds.  (There is even one joint feed – @NASA_Astronauts –  for all of them!)  Because I am particularly interested in female astronauts, I immediately followed Karen Nyberg, who is currently orbiting Earth aboard the International Space Station (ISS).  @AstroKarenN, as she is known, has a PhD in mechanical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin and was the 50th woman in space.

karen

@AstroKarenN concentrates on controlling the ISS’s robotic arm during a recent spacewalk. SOURCE: Twitter

It’s pretty awesome that astronauts are using social media to give us a glimpse of what is going on in low earth orbit.  Last week, Karen tweeted a photo of herself with two other current ISS astronauts, American Chris Cassidy and Italian Luca Parmitano, in preparation for the space walk shown above.  A few of my recent favorites were a photo of her doing an ultrasound on her own eye (yikes!), a picture of some of her young son’s artwork, and even a video showing how she washes her hair!  She also tweets cool pictures of Earth, including Cape Canaveral, Florida, (the launch site of many space shuttles), the Netherlands, an early morning in South America, and a very pretty sunset.

I encourage you to visit Twitter and see for yourself.  If you find something interesting, please share it with us in the comments!

_______________________________________________________________________

About Nancy Santagata

astro_nancyWhen I grow up, I want to be an astronaut!  Until I am @AstroNancy, you can follow me as @DrSantagata.  🙂

Leave a Reply

